Jane Lee

Community supporter and singer/songwriter Jane Lee performed at an open mic during this past season. Here’s why she loves and continues attending TNP:

The first time I made it out to Tuesday Night Cafe I settled into a cracked plastic chair with my spam musubi & Sapporo & immediately I felt at home. As a recent transplant from Oakland, trying to navigate the shiny strip malled streets of West LA, quickly getting sucked into the often isolating life of a grad student, TNC was a much needed breath of fresh air. The sense of community, the commitment to promoting APA arts & activism, the beautiful performers & artists, and the love & support that permeated the courtyard – it reminded me how important these types of spaces are and gave me a glimpse of a caring community amidst the traffic and noise of the city. As a performer, I’ve found that these types of community-based performance spaces supporting up and coming Asian American artists are few and far between. Being a relative newcomer to the singer/songwriter scene, TNC was one of the first spaces in LA where I felt safe enough in to perform in their open mic, and the support and encouragement I received was overwhelming. Tuesday Night Project has cultivated a culture of deep love for community and creativity, and I feel extremely grateful for it and all the people who work to build and maintain it.

Help fund a 15th year of Tuesday Night Project! We’re launching our official campaign for $10,000 TOMORROW, when we’ll also be releasing tracks from our J-Town Summer Sessions artists. Can’t wait to donate? Click here!!

